Summer Body Prep

Let me start by saying that in no way am I advocating any specific definition of a ‘bikini body’, you do YOU and what makes YOU comfortable. With my vacation dates quickly approaching, there are a few things I am doing to ensure I feel my best in my bikini and all my hard work and fitness goals pay off!

Firstly I have increased my workout intensity and length. Having finished my exams, I have so much more time on hand every day as I’m not at school any more and so I’ve been doing much longer FitnessBlender workouts (read my post on them here), including much more body specific strengthening workouts with weights. I also want to stress that I am doing longer, harder and more challenging workouts because I LOVE IT, not purely for the aesthetic results. It’s a no brainer that harder workouts = more intense results.

Next, I have been body brushing religiously. For those of you who don’t know, body brushing helps shed dead skin cells and encourage cell renewal resulting in brighter, smoother skin. On my legs in particular, I find my skin gets quite blotchy however, after my mum’s tip *thank you!!!*, I’ve started to use a body brush every other day or so and the blotchy-ness is practically gone and my skin is in much better condition – definitely beach ready.

Moisturise, moisturise, moisturise. Oils, body butters, mousses, creams.. you name it I’m using it. I love to do a super challenging workout in the morning and then have a long shower and pamper myself afterwards with a number of different body oils and deeply moisturising lotions on elbows and knees. This really helps to moisturise skin in the long term and prepare it for an even, long-lasting tan.

Last but definitely not least, I’ve been making sure to stay as hydrated as I can by drinking lots of water, lemon water, herbal teas and detox teas (if you couldn’t already tell I love ‘health’ teas!). Staying hydrated helps to ensure your body doesn’t hold onto water weight which can make you bloated. As well as this, drinking lots of herbal teas and water helps to replenish electrolytes you can loose during strenuous workouts!

So what are your go-to tips for feeling your best in summer?

One Comment Add yours

  1. Beanie Russell says:

    Love this bloooog!

Leave a Reply

