7.125 Billion Examples Of Perfection and Counting

‘I wish I had clearer skin’. ‘I wish I was slimmer’ ‘I wish my hair was nicer’. ‘I wish I had different colour eyes’. ‘I wish my waist was smaller’. ‘I wish I was shorter or taller’. ‘Can I just be perfect?’ Everyone has said/thought something like this at least once in their lives, for some of us even every day. In all honesty as a 14 year old girl these are things I think about every day.

For quick overview of myself, I am not a very self-confident person. To a lot of people I come across as very confident, but in honestly I really do not have very much self confidence at all. I don’t know about you but whenever someone compliments me I have a habit of making an excuse about it. It’s quite ironic because literally a minute or so ago my mum said to me ‘Your skin’s looking amazing’ and I said ‘it’s probably just the lighting in here’. To be honest I have no idea why, but I always do that when someone compliments me.

I found a quote the other day that really made me think. It went something like ‘The reason we struggle with insecurity is because we compare our behind-the-scenes self with everyone else’s highlight reel’. What it’s saying is that the reason we struggle with insecurity is because we compare ourselves at our worst to everyone else at their best.

You can’t let other people scare you. You can’t go your whole life trying to please everyone else or worried about what everyone else is going to think. Whether it’s your hair, clothes, what you have to say, how you feel, what you believe or what you have. You can’t let the judgment of others stop you from being you, don’t go through your own life being someone everyone else wants you to be. You’re still going to be criticised so you may swell do whatever you want!

So go pamper yourself, go out and show off your beautiful face, pick your head up and realise that there is no one definition of perfect; in fact there are over 7.125 billion, and counting, examples of perfection. When you have a few seconds look at yourself in the mirror, and look at yourself in the eye. Say one thing out loud or in your head that you like about yourself. It could be ‘Hey, my hair looks good today’ or ‘My skin’s looking great’; whatever it is, just something positive about yourself.

On a last note, no one, seriously no one, has the right to make you feel anything less than love for yourself.

I just want to apologise for this post being VERY mishmash and not flowing well at all, to be honest I am disgraced with my writing in this but I just wanted to share my feelings about the whole ‘self image’ thing. If this post has helped just one of you feel tiny bit more positive about yourself that would make me so happy. Make sure to let me know in the comments your own opinion.

Big love, Cecily .xx

10 Comments Add yours

  1. maddyamelia says:

    I struggle with confidence issues and being infront of people when they can see me and this post really made me smile and made my day, thanks for the advice! xoxo

    1. so happy you liked it, thanks♡ xxx

  2. sallseebo says:

    I completely agree with you here! And I do the same thing when somebody compliments me, I have no idea why! Great post! 🙂 xo

    1. thank you so much, I’m so happy you liked it♡ xx

  3. Eve says:

    Absolutely love this, made me smile a lot 💖😘

  4. Loved this! Really made me smile 🙂

  5. This blog post is amazing Cecily, really made me think, thank you lovely x

  6. Gina Potter says:

    Really love this Cecily xx

Leave a Reply

