SPRING/SUMMER 2014: RAW BEAUTY

HELLO!

Lots of different trends have been shown in a number of fashion and beauty shows and catwalks this season. One of the biggest trends, as mentioned in Vogue Online, is Raw Beauty. For Spring/Summer 2014 models were sent out onto the catwalk with the bare minimum of products and styling.

The way the Raw Beauty trend has been defined is by looking your best without using too many products. Almost more of a non-trend than a trend, the aim is to achieve a raw, natural-looking beauty using make-up to conceal flaws and to define features rather than to completely transform (and yes, that means no mascara) – VOGUE.

0140h_592x888
CHRISTOPHER KANE
00200h_592x888
VERA WANG

 

 

 

 

HOW TO CREATE THE LOOK:

1. FACE: First of all start with light coverage for example a tinted moisturiser or concealer where needed. However, you can just leave your face bare and just add some moisturiser. For a light coverage I would recommend the Lavera Tinted Misturiser which you can find my review of here or just for moisture I would recommend the MuLondon Organic Lavender Moisturiser which you can find my review of here.

2. EYES: Next, A natural light coloured matte would be best but if you are feeling more adventurous use a slightly shimmery or natural toned metallic eye shadow. I recommend the Naked 3 Palette as this has 12 rose-hued neutrals. ‘Burnout’, ‘Limit’, ‘Nooner and ‘Mugshot’ are great for this look. I used a small amount of ‘nooner’ then added some ‘limit’ over the top. Swipe a small amount over your lids and just up towards the end of your brow. Then add a tiny bit of light eye shadow to the inner corner of your eye and blend out, for this I used ‘Strange’ from Naked 3. You can either go for no mascara of use a bit to open up your eyes which is what I have done.

3. LIPS: Either apply lip balm alone or a neutral lipgloss or lipstick. I used the Barry M Lip Gloss in toffee, but The Body Shop Lip Gloss in 01 or bareMinerals Marvellous Moxie lipstick in Be Free would also be brilliant for this look.

4. HAIR: You can just wash and dry your hair without using any products. Or to get tousled waves and a natural look with added volume like ALEXANDER WANG and CHRISTOPHER KANE use a sea salt spray, I use the Toni and Guy CASUAL Sea Salt Texturising Spray or Label.M Sea Salt Spray. For a more sleek shiny look, like BALMAIN I use the Percy and Reed Wonderbalm for volume too. For a natural added shine look I wash and dry my hair then use the L’Oreal crystal gloss.

 

Hope you liked this type of post, let me know in the comments! If you have tried out this look I would love to see, you can tag me on Twitter: @CecilyRussell3 !

CECILY .xXx

Leave a Reply

